National Commission on the Status of Women (NCSW)

  • When was NCSW established?

NCSW is statutory body, established in July 2000. It is an outcome of the national and international commitments of the Government of Pakistan like Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action, 1995 and National Plan of Action (NPA) for Women, 1998. Three Commissions have completed their respective term of three years. Term of the last Commission expired on 31st December, 2008.

  • What is the role of NCSW?

The role of NCSW is to promote social, economic, political and legal rights of women as provided in the Constitution of Pakistan and in accordance with International declarations, conventions, treaties, covenants and agreements relating to women.

  • What is the composition of NCSW?

The commission comprises of Chairperson and 2 members each from the four provinces, one each from Islamabad Capital Territory, Federally Administered Tribal Agencies, Gilgit Baltistan & Azad Jammu Kashmir, a representative of the religious minorities & five ex-officio members from Ministries of Law, Finance, Foreign Affairs, Interior & chairperson or designated member of each provincial commission on status of women.

  • How can I find more about NCSW?

Phone Number:         92-51-9224875

Fax:                             92-51-9224877

Email:                         [email protected] 


Postal Address:        2nd Floor, Huma Plaza, 21 East, Blue Area, Fazal-e-Haq Road, Opposite Poly Clinic Hospital, Islamabad

Information about this legislation is also available in the following forms.
Original Document Infographic Animation Presentation اردو

Feedback / Discussion related to this legislation

Responses so far: 0